Connect with us


Breaking: NANS Mulls Nationwide Protest Over Fuel Scarcity, Electricity Tariff Hike



The National Association Nigerian Students (NANS) is planning to stage a nationwide protest against ongoing fuel scarcity and electricity crisis on May 7th, 2024.

The umbrella body of Nigerian students in a statement signed by their five zonal Coordinators said the objective of the planned protest is to demand the removal of key officials whom they hold accountable for exacerbating the crisis in the power and petroleum sector.

The statement said: “We are calling for the immediate removal of Mele Kyari, the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Limited (NNPCL), and Honourable Adelabu, the Minister for Power.”

NANS is of the opinion that the leadership of both sectors has contributed to the mismanagement and mishandling of vital energy resources, plunging the nation into turmoil.

The students said: “to amplify our message and ensure widespread participation, we have strategically organised the protest to take place across various zones of the country. Each zone will host its demonstration at designated locations to maximise visibility and impact.

The also listed designated take off points of their protests billed for Tuesday, May 7th, 2024, as:
Zone A, (Northwest) Abuja Junction, along Abuja-Kaduna Expressway; Zone C, (North Central) Airport Road in Abuja; Zone D, (Southwest) Lagos-Ibadan Expressway;
Zone F, (Southeast) Onitsha-Asaba Head Bridge; Zone E (Northeast) Wuntin Dada along the Bauchi-Jos Road,

“It is a collective stand against the systemic failures and neglect that have perpetuated the cycle of hardship and suffering among the populace.

“We firmly believe that the removal of Mele Kyari and Honourable Adelabu is essential to address the root causes of the fuel scarcity and electricity crisis. We demand accountability, transparency, and decisive action from the government to alleviate the plight of the Nigeria students.” read the statement.

As students united in our resolve, we urge all Nigerians to join us in this protest and stand together in the fight for a brighter future for all.

The statement was jointly signed by NANS Senate President, Akinteye Afeez and five Coordinators of the Association, namely: Comrades Bilal Lawal Kurfi, Daniel Friday Egga, Alao John, Chidi Nzekwe, Bappa Hassan for zones A, C, D, È and F respectively.