Connect with us


Gov Oyetola Approves Appointment Of New Onipara, Olu Of Alaya



Osun State government has announced the appointments of Prince Adeoye David Halleluyah and Prince Adetoyese Taiwo Opeyemi as Onipara of Ipara and Olu of Alaya respectively.

Recall that the stool of Onipara of Ipara in Egbedore local government area of the State became vacant on 5th January, 2018 following the demise of Oba Alimi Odunola Bello-Oyegade.

The stool of Olu of Alaya in Ayedire South Local Council Development Area also became vacant on 11th November, 2015 following the demise of Oba Solomon Bolanle Amoo.

In a statement signed by the Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation, Mrs Funke Egbemode, after the State Executive Council meeting on Monday, Osun government said the succession to the stools of both towns followed the Chieftaincy Declaration and customary laws of the lands.

According to the statement, the appointment of Prince Adeoye David Halleluyah as the Onipara-elect followed a majority vote in his favour during a meeting of Ipara Warrant Kingmakers on 21st May, 2020.

Also, the appointment of Prince Adetoyese Taiwo Opeyemi as the Alaya-elect followed his emergence as the sole candidate at the meetings of the Terinde Royal Family and the Warrant Kingmaker on 28th December 2018 and 16th January 2019 respectively.

Succession to the two stools followed their respective customary laws in compliance with the Chiefs Law (Cap 25) of the State of Osun 2002.

The two appointments take immediate effect.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *