Connect with us


BREAKING : PDP Polls 354, 348 Votes To Emerge Winner Of Akwa Ibom Guber Governor



The governorship candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, Pastor Umo Eno has emerged winner of the March, 18, 2023 Governorship election held in Akwa Ibom State by polling a total of 354, 348 votes to emerge winner.

The two other major contenders in the race , candidate of YPP, Senator Bassey Akpan
came second by polling a total of 136, 262, and Obong Akanimo Udofia of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled a total of 129,602 votes

Akwa Ibom State Collation officer for the 2023 Governorship election and, Vice Chancellor Nigeria Maritime University, Okerenkoko Delta State, Prof. Emmanuel Adigio declared the result on Saturday at exactly

Pastor Umo Eno according to the results announced earlier by the Local Collation/Returning officers won 29 of the 31 LGA in the state.

This is as the guber candidate of the Young Progressives Party YPP Senator Bassey Akpan , popularly called OBA won 2 LGs including his local government Ibiono Ibom, where he polled a total of 21,992 votes and also Ikono LGA where he defeated the two other major contestants by polling a total of 13, 909 votes.

The State Returning Officer , Professor Emmanuel Adejoh , announced the result at about 5.08pm
local time.
He said: “The Governorship candidate of the PDP , Umo Bassey Eno having satisfied the requirement of the law by scoring 354,348 votes is hereby the winner and returned elected as the governor of the state.”

Meanwhile , the APC agent, Ekperikpe Ekpo rejected the elections results as there were reportedly marred by thuggery,violence, and the cancellations due electorial infractions and destruction of materials admidst low turn out of voters.

Similarly, Ambassador Kelvin Umoh YPP agent equally rejected the outcome stating that INEC did not follow due process in he conduct of the polls, “elections were conducted in people houses in Ini, Uyo and Itu and we will take a legal means to seek redress. ”
A break down of results are as fo)ow:
A – 437
AA- 181
AAC – 393
ADC- 1685
ADP- 642
APC- 129, 602
APGA- 311
APM- 381
APP- 121
BP- 141
LP- 4746
NNPP- 12509
NRM- 861
PDP- 354,348
PRP- 288
SDP- 442
YPP- 136,262
ZLP- 728

Total valid votes: 644, 080
Rejected votes: 12342
Total votes cast:656,422
Accredited votes: 657,959
Total numbers of registered voters: 2357418