Connect with us


Osun 2022: Uncertainty As PDP Holds Parallel Primaries



Ademola Adeleke voting at the Osogbo City Stadium

Ahead of July 16 governorship election in Osun State, two factions of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) are currently holding parallel primaries at different locations in Osogbo, the state capital.

It was gathered that the Wale Ojo’s faction of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Osun are having a parallel congress at the popular wocdif centre, Osogbo.

Delegates at the wocdif event Centre

As at the time of filing this report, the Sunday Bisi’s led faction, which has the support of the National Secretariat of the PDP and whose aspirant is Senator Ademola Adeleke has started voting at Osogbo city stadium

Senator Ademola Adeleke and his Supporters at The Osogbo City stadium

CityMirrorNews who visited wocdif centre reports that some leaders of the party, who were on ground at the WOCDIF Centre includes, former Osun State Governor, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, former Deputy Governor, Erelu Olusola Obada, Chiefs Shuaib Oyedokun, Olu Alabi, Tajudeen Oladipo, among others.

Those present at the Osogbo City Stadium venue of the Sunday Bisi led faction include, Chief Ajeigbe, Prof. Wale Oladipo, Bunmi Jenyo, Clement Akanni, Alhaji Gani Olaoluwa and Diran Odeyemi,

Other are; Senator Francis Fadahunse, representing Osun East Senatorial District, Rep Ajilesoro Taofeek, representing Ife Norther federal Constituency, acting chairman of Osun PDP, Sunday Bisi and party members are currently casting their vote for their preferred aspirant in Osogbo City Stadium.

Recall that few hours to PDP, governorship primary election, four aspirants out of six have withdrawn from the race, while PDP governorship candidate in the state in 2018, Senator Ademola Adeleke and Omooba Oyedotun Babayemi are battling for the party ticket.

The aspirants, who had earlier announced their withdrawal ahead of the party’s primaries are; Dr. Akin Ogunbiyi,
Ademola Adeleke’s nephew, Bamidele Adeleke; a former Secretary to the Osun State Government, Fatai Akinbade; and and Omirin Emmanuel Olusanya.

Advert banner

Recent Posts