Connect with us


Nigeria vs S/Africa: Rohr Drops Ideye, Moses, Ighalo, Odey, Invites Zamalek Star




Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rhor has left out Chelsea star Victor Moses, China-based Odion Ighalo and Brown Ideye, as well as MFM FC duo Stephen Odey and Sikiru Olatunbosun but has included Zamalek defender Maroof Youssef in his 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa in Uyo on June 10.

Moses, who helped Chelsea to the 2016/2017 Premier League title, got married only on Sunday, while Ideye and Ighalo have largely struggled in the Chinese Super League in their first season there.

The 23 invited players for the AFCON qualifier were announced by the Nigeria Football Federation on their official Twitter handle on Wednesday.

Among the players listed for the game include Akwa United top scorer Alhassan Ibrahim, Henry Onyekuru of Eupen, ADO Den Haag defender Tyronne Ebuehi and 18-year-old Wolfsburg forward Victor Osimhen.

The other players listed for the clash are notable names like Elderson Echiejile, Kelechi Iheanacho, Ogenyi Onazi, Alex Iwobi, Olanrewaju Kayode, William Troost-Ekong, Tyronne Ebuehi, Kenneth Omeruo, Ahmed Musa and John Ogu.

Also in the list are Vitoria Setubal midfielder Mikel Agu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Chidozie Awaziem, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Dele Alampasu, Moses Simon, Wilfred Ndidi, and Abdullahi Shehu.

The Super Eagles will take on Togo in their second friendly game in Paris, France on Thursday.

The Full List:


Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United)

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (IfeanyiUbah)

Dele Alampasu (Cesarense)




Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco)

William Troost-Ekong (Gent)

Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto)

Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag)

Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea)

Maroof Youssef (Zamalek)

Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusto)




Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor)

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City)

Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal)

John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheva)

Oghenekaro Etebo (Feirense)

Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United)



Ahmed Musa (Leicester City)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Man City)

Olanrewaju Kayode (Austria Wien)

Henry Onyekuru (Eupen)

Alex Iwobi (Arsenal)

Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg)

Moses Simon (Gent)


Dillivry [Advert Banner]

Recent Posts