Connect with us

South West News

Irepodun/Ifelodun Local Government Inaugurates IGR Committee



By Niyi Olutunde, Akure

As part of efforts towards improving the revenue base of the Local Government Area, Hon. Ogundana Babatola, the Executive Chairman of Irepodun-Ifelodun Local Government Area of Ekiti State has inaugurated the Internally Generated Revenue Committee for the council area.

Inaugurating the committee at the Chairman’s conference room at the council Secretariat, the Chairman in his address said the IGR Committee was saddled with the responsibility of collecting rates and taxes in the local government in collaboration with the local government career officers.

The council boss who specifies some guiding principles laid down to assist their mode of operation of the committee.

According to him, the functions of the committee includes; act as tax force for revenue collection, act as policing team to monitor the activities of the revenue collectors, work out details on how to enforce the implementation of local government bye law, ensure that all revenue collected are remitted to the local government purse, ensure that all tax/rate defaulters are successfully prosecuted, involve in the enlightenment program on internally generated revenue and give situation report to all revenue collection activities on quarterly bases to the local government management through the Director of finance.

Babatola, who charged and encouraged the IGR committee to do their job with all courage, however assured them that his administration would provide all necessary assistance in terms of security and other areas to make their operations a successful one.

The leader of the House Rt, Hon. Adunbi Ayodele Joshua commended the committee members for being a leading example in the course of the task assigned to them.

Adunbi, who noted that when the arms received their names from the chairman for screening, all the nominated IGR committee member came with their tenement/tax receipt which is worthy of emulation the leader acknowledged.

He, therefore, charged them to work in the armpit of government in order to achieve the set goals.

Responding on behalf of the committee members, the Chairman, Hon. John Oluwajuyigbe, thanked the Executive Chairman for the privilege given to them to serve and expressed the determination of the committee at ensuring that it meets the tasks on which it was created.

Oluwajuyigbe pledged to work assiduously to justify the confidence reposed in them and meet the set goals of the committee promising the committee total loyalty at discharging their duties as stipulated by law.

The Irepodun/Ifelodun Local Government Committee Member include: Hon. John Oluwajuyigbe BORORO – Chairman, Mrs. Asaolu Kemisola, Mr. Olabode Ojo, Adeyeye Kemi, Olowookere Busuyi, Mr. Ojo Gbenga, Mr. Ilesanmi Bamiyo, Mr. Odeleye Azeez and Mr. Fasunan Olaolorun.

The inauguration ceremony had in attendance, the Vice Chairman of the council, Prince Ilesanmi Ogunleye, Head of Local Government Service, Mrs Bamisile O.O, Director of Administration Mr Sanya Olofinbiyi, Director of Finance Mrs Akinloa O.O as well as Chief of staff to the Chairman, Barr Aribisala, Leader of the house, Rt. Hon. Adunbi Ayodele Joshua, Hon Shade Adaralegbe, Hon. Busuyi, Hon. Ogundipe Ademilola, Rate officer and consultants.

Advert banner

Recent Posts