Connect with us


Congress: Aregbesola’s Loyalists Drag APC, Buni, Others To Court



A group within the ruling All Progressives Congress APC in Osun State,
The Osun Progressives (TOP), has approached the Federal High Court sitting in Osogbo over the ward congress held on July 31st, 2021.

Members of TOP are the loyalists of the former Governor of the state and current Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola.

The group approached the court to challenge the legality or otherwise of the congress presided over by Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye-led committee.

According to a document sighted by CityMirrorNews, the suit was filed by Yusuf Asifat Makanjuola and 2,516 others as plaintiff, while The All Progressives Congress is the first defendant.

“Being Bonafide Members of the 1st Defendant’s And aspirants in the elective positions in the various Wards in the 30 Local Governments in Osun State For themselves and all other Aspirants/ Candidates who paid prescribed fees for Procurement of nomination forms for the Purpose of contesting the 1st Defendant’s Elective positions in Osun State during the Congress which was supposed to be held on the 31st of July, 2021but were wrongly excluded or prevented from participating by voting or being voted for,” the document reads partly.

Other defendants are; The Chairman Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Committee of thr APC, Mai Mala Buni; The Chairman Osun State Ward Congress Appeal Committee, Ambassador Obed Wadzani; The Chairman Osun State Ward Congress Committee, Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye; the Osun State chapter of the APC and the Independent National Electoral Commission as 2nd to 6th defendants.

Advert banner

Recent Posts