Connect with us


OSUN DEFENDER Tops NUJ Professional Awards



By Ayobami Agboola, Osogbo

Osun Defender Deputy Editor, Ismaeel Uthman and a Senior reporter, Solomon Odeniyi, were among eight journalists honoured at the 2020 Osun NUJ Press week award.

The NUJ Professional Award is a high profile event organised by the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Osun State Council to celebrate courage and sacrifices journalists made within the year with the aim to motivate and encourage them to do more in their professional duties.

Uthman, Odeniyi and six others were conferred with the NUJ Professional Awards in recognition of their commitment, dedication and their ability to withstand the challenges they had faced in the course of discharging their legitimate duties as journalists, at a Dinner which was held on Thursday night at the Leisure Spring Hotel, Osogbo.

While Uthman won the investigative reporter of the year , Odeniyi clinched the reporter of the year award for the print media.

Some of the entries submitted by Uthman for the investigative reporter category included the Uncovering of Hazardous Mast at Ijebu-Ijesa, The abandonment of the Cocoa Processing Industry, the baby factory at Ilesa among others.

For Solomon, the awards was a reward to the several quality and people-oriented stories published by this paper in recent times.

Other winners include: Reporter of the year (electronics) won by Lekan Akindoju of Rave FM, Newscaster of the Year( Radio) Mrs Omolade Olaonipekun of Unique FM, Ilesa, best newscaster of the year (TV), Oluchi Amuda , Best Reporter (Electronic), Olalekan Akindoju of Rave fm, Olawumi Bukola Popoola emerged as the best information officer of the year and Niyi Folorunsho of Ontv just as Rave FM won the Radio station of the year.

CityMirrorNews Correspondent who covered the event reports that the winner for the third category which was the photo journalists of the year was not declared by the judges.

Also in the honorary award , former NUJ Chairman and Osun Defender reporter, Kehinde Ayantunji , former Correspondent Chairman and CPS to the deputy governor, Comrade Olaniyi Ajibola , the SUBEB chairman, Mr Adeoye Bakare, Alhaji Jamiu Olawumi were given ambassadorial awards.

In his welcome address , Chairman NUJ, Osun State Council, Comrade Wasiu Ajadosu said the event was also used to honour media icons and friends of the media who have distinguished themselves in supporting press in the state.

Recent Posts