Connect with us


Bamidele Salam Reelected, Trounces APC’s Atanda Bello With Over 28,000 Votes Margin



The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the lawmaker representing Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore, Ejigbo Federal Constituency in the National Assembly as the winner of the House of Representatives election conducted yesterday, Saturday, 25th February, 2023.

Representative Bamidele Salam emerged victorious after defeating Mr. Atanda Bello of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in what turned out to be a landmark in the electoral victory of the PDP in Osun State.

Announcing outcome of the election in Ede Sunday afternoon, the INEC Federal Constituency Returning Officer, Dr Muritala Monsuru of the Department of History, University of Ibadan, said Rep Bamidele Salam of the PDP polled a mouth watering 64,236 votes, while Atanda Bello of the APC came distant second with 35,444 votes.

The breakdown of the result also saw Rep. Bamidele Salam defeating Atanda in all the four local governments making up the federal constituency and with a margin of 28,792 votes.

The victory margin is arguably the widest in all the nine federal constituencies in the state.

In his immediate reaction after the official declaration of the result, Rep. Bamidele Salam expressed gratitude to Almighty God, the Executive Governor of Osun State, Senator Ademola Adeleke, the Adeleke political dynasty and indeed the good people of the Federal Constituency for the renewed trust and confidence reposed in him through his re-election and especially, the overwhelming victory.

Rep Bamidele Salam assured the people of his readiness to rededicate himself to the cause of his engagement as a lawmaker and representative of the people of the federal constituency.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts