Connect with us


Police Commission Appoints Mba, Ciroma As DIGs



…14 CPs To AIG; 22 DCPs To CP, 63 Others

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has announced the appointment of Assistant Inspectors General of Police, AIGs Frank Mba, and Bala Ciroma as Deputy Inspectors General of Police (DIGs).

Mba’s promotion is coming barely three months after his elevation from the rank of Commissioner of Police (CP) to that of AIG.

In a statement on Friday by its spokesperson, Mr. Ikechukwu Ani, the commission noted that the former Force Public Relations Officer (FPRO) will represent the South East zone of the country, while Ciroma is to superintend over the North East geo-political entity.

Also promoted were 14 CPs, who will now be decorated with the rank of AIG, 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) with the CP insignia, even as 24 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs) are to step up to the next rank (DCP).

“These decisions were highpoints of the 21st Plenary Meeting of the Commission presided over by its Chairman, Dr. Solomon Arase, retired Inspector General of Police and attended by all the Members of the Commission including the Permanent Secretary/ Secretary to the Commission, Dr. (Mrs) Ifeoma Adaora Anyanwutaku.

“The two AIG’s, 14 CP’s and 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police appeared before the Commission in Plenary for an interactive session, a requirement for their new ranks.

“The Plenary Meeting also approved a new Instrument of Delegation on delegated powers to the Inspector General of Police”, the PSC said.

The new AIGs, according to the statement, are: are CP Abubakar Lawal; CP Alhassan Aminu; CP Abdul Umar; CP Shettima Zannah; CP Ebong Eyibio Ebong; CP Adepoju Ayiinde Ilori and CP Okon Okon Effiong.
Others are; CP Echeng Eworo Echeng; CP Susan Ukpanukiema Horsfall; CP Bankole Lanre Sikiru; CP Oladimeji Yomi Olarewaju; CP Sani Gwarzo and CP Odama Paul Ojeka.

The following are some of the DCPs promoted to the rank of CP: DCP Abibo Deinma Reuben; DCP Thomas Abraham Nabhoni; DCP Wakil Abdul Salamai; DCP Enyinnaya Inonachi; DCP Ronke Nurat Okunade; DCP Adekunle Ismail Olusokan; DCP Hassan Abdu Yabnet; DCP Festus Chinedu Oko;, as well as DCP Aminu Baba Raji.

Some of the newly-promoted DCPs include Messrs Ezekiel Ibrahim (Project Monitoring Unit, Force Headquarters, Abuja); Mohammed Shamsudeen, (Assistant Director, OPS, Kaduna (NCCSALW), and Khan Salihu Usman.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *