Connect with us


Toe The Line Of Chief Bisi Akande, Accept Defeat – Osun PDP Tells Oyetola



A one-time People Democratic Party, (PDP)South West zonal secretary, and the newly Inaugurated Chairman Committee for the swearing-in of Senator Ademola Adeleke, Osun Governor-Elect, Rev Bunmi Jenyo, has advised Governor Adegboyega Oyetola to accept defeat of the July 16 governorship election.

Jenyo urged Governor Oyetola to toe the line of the ex-governor of the state, Chief Bisi Akande who he said accepted defeat in 2003 election.

Chief Bisi Akande, who sought reelection in 2003 on the platform of the Alliance for Democracy, (AD) accepted the defeat when he lost to Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola of the People Democratic Party, (PDP).

Speaking shortly after his Inauguration as the Chairman Committee for the swearing-in of the Governor Elect, Sen. Ademola Adeleke at Party secretariat in Osogbo, Osun state, Jenyo said Governor Gboyega Oyetola should be courageous enough to conceed defeat.

According to party chieftain, “The incumbent government doesn’t have a choice, this is statutory. I keep saying it to people when they said they are not cooperating, they have no choice than to cooperate. When Fayemi suppose to leave in Ekiti he left and inauguration was done, swearing in was done, same thing is going to happen here in Osun state.

“The incumbent government are not facing reality. They should toe the line of Chief Bisi Akande. When he lost, instantly he gave up, but having said that, the statutory will compel them to handover to Senator Ademola Jackson Nurudeen Adeleke” Jenyo said.

Speaking, after the inauguration of the inauguration ceremony of the Osun Governor-elect, Ademola Adeleke on November 27, the Osun PDP Caretaker Chairman, Adekunle Akindele, charged the 13 member committee management team with different sub-committees, to ensure that the inuaguration is superb and the best in the country.

Akindele said every citizen of the state, especially members of the party would participate in the celebration, adding that as the inuaguration would be going on in the capital city, members and supporters across all the local councils would also be in the mood of celebration.

Akindele said, “The task before me is to inuagurate the committee that will usher in our governor. I want to charge the committee to ensure that the inuaguration is superb. I want stakeholders present to know, that outside Osun, a lot of people are anxious to see what will happen on that day. Many people have been asking for our preparedness for that day.”

“For this inauguration, the celebration starts from now. We are just underestimating our strength in Osun. We are in millions. Decision like this, sometimes, it’s not possible to bring everyone on board, we have to streamline it to make sure that few people are brought on board. Whatever we want to do at the party level, we make sure we reach out to members at the local councils. We want to make sure that the whole state are involved across board. We have created a platform for the celebration to take place at various local government.

“Hence, we have local government inuaguration committee. You can make some addition in your local government, but, whatever you do must be approved by the chairman of the committee for the purpose of budgeting.

“Give us the most memorable swearing-in in the history of the state and in Nigeria,” he said.

Akindele warned members of the party against indiscipline, saying, “we need to instill discipline in the party. Discipline is key. We are able to achieve what we are able to achieve because the leadership of the party instilled discipline. The party won’t shy away from sanctioning any member who derails from the core values of the party.”

CityMirrorNews reports that management committee is chaired by Bunni Jenyo while the secretary is Hashim Abioye.

Other members of the committee included Chief Mrs Dupe Adeleke, Sunday Bisi as Chairman, venue and accomodation; Diran Odeyemi, Chairman Media, Publicity and Entertainment, Lere Oyewumi, chairman, Budget and Procurement, Kazeem Akinleye, Chairman, Security, Muyiwa Oladimeji, Chairman Medical, Bamidele Salam, chairman, liason and Niyi Owolabi among others.