Connect with us


Gov Oyetola Appoints Two Traditional Rulers



Osun State Government has announced the appointment of Prince Olayemi Yekinni Omisore and Prince Rafiu Oyekanmi Mosobalaje as Olu of Awolowo Town and Olupo of Oluponna respectively.

Recall that the stool of Olu of Awolowo in Ife South West Local Council Development Area of the State became vacant on 5th January 2022 following the demise of Oba David Olajide Omisore.

The stool of Olupo of Oluponna in Ayedire South Local Council Development Area also became vacant on 4th January 2022 following the demise of Oba Emmanuel Oyeleso Oyebamiji, Fadare II.

In a statement signed by the Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation, Mrs Funke Egbemode, after the State Executive Council meeting on Monday, the state government said the succession to the stools of Awolowo and Oluponna towns followed the 2021 registered Chieftaincy Declaration and 2007 registered Chieftaincy Declaration respectively.

According to the statement, the appointment of Prince Olayemi Yekinni Omisore as the Olu of Awolowo-elect followed his emergence as the sole candidate at the meetings of the Kingmaker on 24th August 2022.

In the same vein, Prince Rafiu Oyekanmi Mosobalaje’s appointment as Olupo-elect followed a unanimous vote in his favour during a meeting of the Kingmakers on 30th August, 2022.

The two appointments take immediate effect. 

Recent Posts