Connect with us


Fayemi, Akeredolu, Daniel, Obi Of Onitsha, Other Dignitaries To Attend Osun @ 30 Banquet, Awards Tomorrow



Gov Fayemi and Akeredolu

…as State honours Ajiborisha, Akande, Adeboye, Akinrinade, Alakija, Awoyinfa, 22 others

All is now set for the Osun 30th anniversary Banquet and Awards Ceremony holding at the WOCDIF Event Centre, Osogbo, tomorrow.

Prominent Nigerians, including former and serving governors have confirmed their attendance of the event.

Among the important dignitaries that have confirmed their attendance are Nigeria Governors’ Forum Chairman and Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Southern Governors’ Forum Chairman and Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu; former Ogun State Governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel; former Oyo State Governor, Otunba Christopher Alao Akala; and the Obi of Onitsha, His Royal Majesty, Igwe Alfred Achebe.

The Banquet and Awards Ceremony is the last of the series of activities lined up to celebrate the 30th anniversary of the creation of Osun, where 28 distinguished and prominent citizens of the State are expected to be honoured.

The 30th anniversary celebration kicked off on August 26, with the Governor of the State, Adegboyega Oyetola, featuring on special TV and Radio interview sessions and it was followed by an anniversary colloquium on September 9.

The Colloquium featured high-profile resource persons like Chief Bisi Akande (former Governor, Osun State), Sultan Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar (Sultan of Sokoto), Dr. Reuben Abati (former Special Adviser to President Goodluck Jonathan on Media and Publicity), Dr Yemi Farounbi (former Nigerian Ambassador to the Phillipines), Hajia Zainab Okino, Babajide Kolade-Otitoju, Steve Nwosu and Dr. Segun Aina among others.

In all, 28 distinguished citizens under four broad categories, have been selected by a Jury, on the basis of their service to Osun and contributions to the global and local society and will be honoured tomorrow.

The honourees, under the Osun Lifetime Achievement Award, include Chief Bisi Akande (former Governor, Osun State), Pastor Enoch Adeboye (General Overseer, RCCG worldwide), Sheikh Abdur’rasheed Hadiyatulla (President, Supreme Council for Sharia in Nigeria), and General Ipoola Alani Akinrinnade, rtd. (former Chief of Army Staff, Nigeria from October 1979 to April 1980, and then Chief of Defence Staff until 1981 during the Nigerian Second Republic).

Others in the lifetime achievement category are Asiwaju Hammed Omidiran, Comrade Hassan Sunmonu, Prince Tunde Ponle, Professor Olu Aina, Chief Akinwande Akinola, Engr. Joanah Olu Maduka and Chief Dr. Benjamin Adigun.

The Osun Distinguished Citizens Award honourees include Pastor Matthew Asimolowo, Alagba Yemi Elebuibon, Brigadier General Leo Segun Ajiborisha (retired), Chief Adegboyega Awomolo, SAN, Asiwaju Khamis Olatunde Badmus, Prince Lawal Obelawo, Chief Moses Inaolaji Aboaba, Mr. Adewale Adeyemo, Mr. Kola Adeniji and Mr. Mike Awoyinfa.

The state, under the Legacy Award category, also recognised Dr. (Mrs.) Folorunsho Alakija (Chancellor, Osun State University and dynamic philanthropist), and Madam Susan Wenger (a culture and tourism icon).

The Osun Merit Award honourees include Emeritus Prof. Ademola Oyejide, Chief Nike Okundaye, Professor Oye Gureje, Professor Isaac Adewole, and Mallam Yusuf Ali, SAN.

Recent Posts