Connect with us


Osun NUJ: Abiodun Olalere re-elected Chairman



By Rafiu Agboola
biodun olalere 1
The Osun Council of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), on Thursdays February 11, 2016 elected new Executive members to pilot the affairs of the union for the next three years.
The election which took place at the NUJ press centre in Osogbo was conducted in a very peaceful manner.
Mr Abiodun Olalere who is the current chairman of the NUJ won his re-election for second term, while Boladale Bamigbola, the Osun state correspondent of National Mirror newspaper won the secretary position of the union. 
Olalere, who is from the Osun State Broadcasting Corporation (OSBC) polled 195 votes to defeat his opponent, Mr Dele Ajayi of the Unique FM, who scored 159 votes.
Bamigbola defeated his opponent, Babatunde Fanowopo with 198 votes to 161 votes. Fanowopo is the chairman of the OSBC chapel of the NUJ.  
Other elected officers of the union are: Kehinde Ayantunji, Vice Chairman, Olusola Egbodofo as Auditor, Adebisi Alao asTreasurer, and Awe Isaiah as assistance secretary.
In his acceptance, Olalere promised to fulfill his electoral promises, just as he vowed to prioritise the welfare of the NUJ members.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *