Connect with us


Invasion: Police Arraign 29 Yoruba Nation Agitators In Oyo



Invasion: Police Arraign 29 Yoruba Nation Agitators In Oyo

Oyo State Police Command has dragged 29 arrested Yoruba Nation Agitators before the Iyaganku Chief Magistrate Court, Ibadan, over alleged involvement and roles in the aborted invasion of the Oyo State Government Secretariat on Saturday, April 13, 2024.

They were arraigned on seven- count charge bordering on treasonable felony, unlawful society, illegal possession of firearm, going armed, and conduct likely to cause breach of peace.

The offences, according to the Investigative Police Officer, Bakare Rasaq, an Inspector with the State Criminal Investigation Department, Iyaganku, Ibadan, are contrary to and punishable under Section 516 of the Criminal Code, Cap 38, Vol.II, Laws of Oyo State of Nigeria, 2000.

Initially, 21 suspects had been arraigned by the Police on Monday. The addition of 8 more was a result of further investigation by the Police.

The case with charge number Mi/520c/2024 is between the Commissioner of Police vs the 29 suspects.

Details later…