Connect with us


EFCC Arrests 20 Alleged Internet Fraudsters In Ibadan, Convicts 11 In Ogun, Oyo



EFCC Arrests 20 Alleged Internet Fraudsters In Ibadan, Convicts 11 In Ogun, Oyo

Operatives of the Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, have arrested twenty (20) alleged Internet fraudsters and convicted 11 persons in Oyo and Ogun States.

According to Wilson Uwujaren,
Head, Media & Publicity of the commission, in a release made available to. New Telegraph in Ibadan, “the suspects were arrested on September 1, 2023 at Ologolo and Idi – Ishin areas of Ibadan, Oyo State following intelligence on their fraudulent activities.

“The suspects are Mustapha Adeyemi Afeez, Oluyombo Tunde Ayomide, Ayanwola Tobi, Oni Joseph Promise, Osifeso Tijesunimi David, Anthony Lucky Daniel, OLanrenwaju Selim Adebowale and Ezekiel Olawole Kolawole.

“Others include Abaka Clitus, Adeyinka Wande Ajayi, Gbolahan Lanre Ayinde, Abeeb Rilwan Bidemi, Augustine Okoh, Ayanwonla Omotayo Olaoluwa, Azeez Ibrahim Olamide, Ayanwola Segun Victor, Onifade Ridwan Olabisi, Abaka Moses, Aladelusi Adeyinka Temitope Mathew and Abolaji Muiz Ajibola.

“Items recovered include three Toyota Camry cars, unregistered grey-coloured Toyota RAV 4, laptop computers, and several mobile phones, among others.

They will be charged to court as soon as the investigation is concluded, the release added..

Regarding the cyber-criminals convicted, the anti-graft agency said they included: Olakunle Dave Edamisan, Samuel Opeyemi Enitan, Daniel Aanu Omoyajowo, Jonathan Emmannuel Opashi, Daramola Damilola Aliu, Olarenwaju Olamilekan Oluwaseun, Olaoluwa Daniel Adejobi, Akintola Akindeji Festus, Tijani Babatunde Adedayo, Sodiq Opyemi Odunewu and Powei Ibelih Theophillious.

The convicts were prosecuted following their arrest for alleged cybercrime and other related fraud activities. Upon their arraignments before Justices Ladiran Akintola and Adebukola Lajide of the Oyo State High Court, sitting in Ibadan and Justice Sinmisola Adeniyi of the Ogun State High Court, Abeokuta, they all pleaded “guilty” to the one count separate charges filed against them.

Following their pleas, prosecution counsel, Olatunji Akintola, Umar Abiso, Shamsudeen Bashir, Adamu Sahabi, Zainab Tijani and Fatima Baba reviewed the facts of the cases and prayed the courts to convict and sentence the defendants as charged.

Consequently, Justice Adeniyi convicted and sentenced Odunewu, Adedayo, Festus, Adejobi and Oluwaseun to one year imprisonment each without an option of fine.

Also, Justice Akintola convicted and sentenced Omoyajowo, Opashi and Aliu to one year imprisonment each; Edamisan to six months community service, Enitan to three months community service while Powei was convicted and sentenced to six months community service. He will in addition, forfeit N500, 000.00 (Five Hundred Thousand Naira) and N1.4million (One Million, Four Hundred Thousand Naira) to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

However, Omoyajowo was given an option of N40, 000.00 (Forty Thousand Naira) fine while Opashi, Aliu and Edamisan were given an option of N50, 000.00 (Fifty Thousand Naira) fine each.

The convicts were ordered to restitute their various victims and forfeit all items recovered from them to the Federal Government of Nigeria.