Connect with us


Osun Tribunal Verdict: AGF Congratulates Oyetola, Asks Aggrieved PDP Members To Approach Appellate Court



A group within the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Grassroots Foundation (AGF), Osun State chapter has congratulated the party’s candidate in the July 16, 2022 gubernatorial election, Gboyega Oyetola on his victory at tribunal.

AGF in its congratulatory message jointly signed by the Coordinator, Comrade Tijani Sikiru and Secretary, Yahaya Adeniji described the victory of Oyetola at Election Petition Tribunal as a well deserved.

The group however urged those who feel uncomfortable with the judgement to approach the Appellate Court instead of resulting into violence.

According to AGF when Ademola Adeleke was declared winner of the poll by the independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), members of APC and their supporters approached the court to seek redress.

“We the entire members of AGF in Osun State congratulate our father , Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola on his victory at the election petition Tribunal that declared him as the authentic winner of the July 16, 2022 governorship election in the state .

“Oyetola’s victory at the tribunal is a well deserved as it has pointed to the fact that no matter how far lies have gone the truth shall one day conveniently overtake it. Oyetola is loved by the residents of Osun and that was why many were wondering about the results which was announced by the INEC. But we thank God for the truth eventually prevailed.

“However, we will like to urge those that the tribunal judgment did not go down well with to approach the Appellate Court instead of resulting to civil unrest, ” the group emphasized.

Recall that Election Petition Tribunal had on Friday declared Gboyega Oyetola as the winner of the July 16, 2022 gubernatorial election and ordered the withdrawal of the certificate of return as Governor issued to Senator Ademola Adeleke by the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC.

However ,there has been aggregate and pockets of violence that have trailed the Tribunal judgement as PDP members in Osogbo, Ikire, Ilesa and Ede have been staging protests across the State .