Connect with us


Lai Mohammed’s Loyalist Appointed NBC Board Chair



President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the Governing Board of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), following the expiration of the tenure of the former board.

In a statement issued in Abuja on Wednesday, the Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said the Hon. Bashir Omolaja Bolarinwa is now the board Chairman.

Daily Trust reports that Bolarinwa is the Chairman of the minister’s faction of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara State.

He was the Caretaker Committee Chairman who was removed following the disagreement between the Minister and the state Governor, Alhaji Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq, over the control of party in the state.

During the state Congress of the party, Mohammed’s faction held its parallel Congress where Bolarinwa, a former member of the House of Representatives for Lagos Mainland and one-time Chairman of Lagos Mainland Local Government, emerged.

However, the party’s Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) recognised the faction headed by the governor.

According to the minister’s statement, other members, who were appointed to represent various interests as stipulated by the NBC Act, include Mr. Wada Asab Ibrahim, Mr. Iheanyichukwu Azubike Dike, Mrs. Adesola Oyinloye Ndu and Mr. Olaniyan Olatunji Badmus.

Also on the board are Mr. Bashir Ibrahim, Mr. Obiora Ilo, Mr, Ahmad Sajo, Engr. Bayo Erikitola, a representative of the State Security Service, a representative of the Federal Ministry of Information and Culture as well as the Director-General of the Commission.

The board has a three-year tenure.

Daily Trust

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Dillivry [Advert Banner]

Recent Posts