Connect with us


Breaking: APC Candidate, Yakubu Sanda Declared Winner of the Pengana Bye-Election



By Jide Afolabi, Jos

Honourable Yakubu Jackson Sanda of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has been declared winner of the just concluded Pengana Contituency Bye-election held today, Saturday.

According to the Returning Officer, Professor Noel Wanang of the University of Jos who announced the result said that Yakubu Yackson Sanda polled 9222 to beat his closest rival and the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, candidate, Yakubu Busa Buji who scored 7083.

The poll witnessed voters low turnout with heavy security presence even at the Government College Jengre Collation Centre in Bassa Local Government Area of Plateau state, our state correspondent reports.

The Independent National Electoral Commission conducted the bye-election in 127 Polling Units across 7 wards with over sixty thousand registered voters with four candidates participating in the election.

Total votes cast were 16523 with 187 rejected votes.
The total margin between the winners and runner-up was 2139 votes.

Pengana Constituency seat became vacant as a result of the death of Honourable Afon who died after being declared a winner of the election held in February.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get A Reliable POS For Your Business

Recent Posts