Connect with us


Breaking: INEC Declares Osun Governorship Election Inconclusive



The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC ,has declared the Osun Governorship election “inconclusive”

The declaration was made by Joseph Fuwape, the presiding officer of the election at the INEC headquarters in Osun.

At the end of the collation of votes, the PDP candidate, Ademola Adeleke, won majority votes of about 254,698 votes while Gboyega Oyetola of the APC came a close second with 254,345 votes. Both leading candidates had a difference of about 354 votes.

“Unfortunately as the returning officer, it’s not possible to declare anybody as the clear winner of the election on the first ballot,” Mr Fuwape said.

He explained that the total registered voters in the five polling units where elections were cancelled is 3,498 votes.

Since that figure was higher than the difference between the votes of the leading candidates, a re-run election had to be conducted, the INEC chief explained.

“I, Joseph Adeola Fuwape, hereby, declare this election inconclusive,” he said.

“In Orolu local govt, three polling 3 affected in Orolu, one affected in Osogbo , 3 Ife-North local government areas”

Official results of major candidate’s as announced by INEC are as follows:

APC – 254, 345
PDP – 254, 698
SDP – 128, 049
ADP – 49, 742


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Dillivry [Advert Banner]

Recent Posts