Connect with us


Just In: EFCC Detains 3, Releases 2 Ex-Oyo Council Chairmen Over Alleged Fraud



The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, this afternoon in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, detained 3 ex-council chairmen out of the 5 it invited from Ogbomoso zone, over alleged fraud.


It would be recalled that the commission has been inviting council chairmen who were in the saddle till 2015 over what they used the N11m they allegedly withdrew from their various council areas’ accounts, in May 2015.
Few weeks ago, the four ex-chairmen from Oyo zone were guests of the commission. They were told to go home after giving ‘satisfactory explanation’ about the fund, an EFCC source told
It would soon be the turn of a permanent secretary who was alleged to be the ‘conduit pipe’ through which the fund passed.
The former council bosses-Jacob Bamgboye (Orire), Temilola Adibi (Ogbomoso North), Oyeleke Simeon (Ogo-Oluwa), Mathew Fashola (Ogbomoso South) and Lasisi Awodele were said to have been invited by the anti-graft agency for questioning.
It was learnt that only the duo of Fashola and Aworinde, whose council areas, according to our source, didn’t have money to withdraw as at May 2015, were told to go home.
The trio of Adibi, Bamgboye and Oyeleke, were, however, unlucky as they were unable to tell officials of the commission how they allegedly spent the money.
They will be kept in the commission’s custody till their bail application is prepared.


Recent Posts