Connect with us


Labour Party Wins Oyo Bye Election



Sakin Babalola

In what looks like a shock for the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) in Oyo state, Oorelope people rallied support for the  Labour party candidate,  Mr. Lukman Balogun as he emerged as the winner of state Assembly bye election.

Against all expectations, the underdog political party, Labour, won the bye election for Oorelope Local Government.

Mr Balogun, who was a former caretaker committee chairman of Oorelope Local Government, polled 6,122 votes to emerge victorious.

Mr. Jimoh Gbadamosi of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled 4,148 votes, while the Accord Party’s candidate, Mr. Solomon Olabisi came third with 2,123 votes.

Mr Balogun won in eight of the 10 wards while Mr Gbadamosi of APC won the remaining two wards in the local council.

The seat became vacant following the murder of Hon. Gideon Aremu, who represented the constituency on the ticket of the Labour Party.


Get A Reliable POS For Your Business


Recent Posts