Home >> Just In >> Again, Mimiko Sets To Dump PDP For Labour Party

Again, Mimiko Sets To Dump PDP For Labour Party

….Jegede, Faboyede Others Still Remain In PDP

By Niyi Olutunde, Akure

Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, former Ondo state governor, has concluded arrangements to officially dump the People’s Democratic Party, (PDP) for the Labour Party.

Olusegun Mimiko
Dr Olusegun Mimiko

CityMirrorNews recalls AZthat Mimiko was governor between 2009 and 2017 will be returning tomorrow with his teeming supporters across all the 18 local government area to the party he left in 2014 ahead of the 2015 general elections.

It was however learnt that his official declaration will hold at his home town, Ondo at the Ondo Civic Centre.

Meanwhile, the governorship candidate of the party in the last election, Mr. Eyitayo Jegede and his running mate, Prince John Ola-Mafo have opted to remain in the PDP.

When contacted on the telephone whether he would be following his former boss from the PDP to LP, Jegede said, “I am a member of the PDP”.

Others PDP members that refused to follow Mimiko to the Labour Party are, former Commissioners: Kayode Akinmade, Dayo Awude and Jide Adejuyigbe, Otunba Nicholas Tofowomo, Femi Adekanbi.

Others include, former Ambassador to Greece and Australia, Prof. Olu Agbi, the immediate Chief of Staff, Dr. Kola Ademujimi, Deputy National Chairman Southwest, Dr. Eddy Olafeso, Engr Clement Faboyede state PDP chairman, Akogun Tokunbo Modupe, Hon. Benson Amuwa, Adedayo Omolafe (Expensive), Adebayo Alarapon, Senator Boluwaji Kunlere, Chief Segun Adegoke, Chief Akintade, Barrister Sola Ebiseni, Barrister Remi Olatubora, Col Omowa among others.

Mimiko had allegedly deserted the PDP activities both at the state and the national level immediately after the party lost the last governorship election in Ondo State.

Investigations revealed that the development will signal the rebuilding of the structure of the LP which was collapsed into the PDP in 2014 ahead of his alleged presidential ambition.

It was also learnt that few members of the cabinet of the former governor, many of his former appointees and at least a federal lawmaker and three members of the State House of Assembly will be joining the move to the LP.

Those cabinet members are to be led by former Deputy Governor, Alhaji Lasisi Oluboyo and former Commissioner for Works, Engr. Gboye Adegbenro, as well as others who are looking for a fresh platform to contest the 2019 general elections in the state.

The three members of the State House of Assembly who were said to have decided on moving with Mimiko to the LP are former Majority Leader, Hon. Dayo Akinsoyinu (Ondo West 1), Hon. Ade Adeniyi (Ondo West 2) and Hon. Siji Akindiose (Ondo East).

The federal lawmaker believed to already be on the train is a former major financier of the LP, Hon. Joseph Akinlaja, who represents Ondo East/Ondo West Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives in Abuja.

Check Also

Senator Babajide Omoworare

Osun 2018: Omoworare Joins Guber Race, Promises Economic Growth, Human Capacity Devt

By Ayobami Agboola, Osogbo The Senator representing Osun East, Babajide Omoworare, on Wednesday, joined other …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *